Stay up to date with our latest shows, tour and offers!

Make sure you subscribe!

STAY UP TO DATE!

JANE BIRKIN 

Birkin Gainsbourg Le Symphonique

MARCH 3, 2020 / 8:00PM

SALLE WILFRID-PELLETIER - PDA

Starting from $55.00

DESCRIPTION

In the summer of 2016, "Birkin Gainsbourg Le Symphonique" was born under the direction of the Symphony Orchestra of Montreal and the Francofolies of Montreal. Four years later and after performing in more than twenty countries around the world, Jane Birkin is pleased to return to sing in Montreal, where it all began!

 

More than any other, Jane Birkin has been able to carry and personalize Gainsbourg’s brilliant and tortured lyrics with grace and charm. And here she is, more than 25 years after the artist’s death, who captivates us once again by highlighting another facet of some of the jewels carved by him. With a classical background, Gainsbourg had often borrowed from the great repertoire: Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Dvorak… thus marked with their seal several of his pieces. Then, no doubt he would have enjoyed these subtle original arrangements and orchestrations that see the Grande musique take over about twenty of his titles, to transform what he called his “minor art” into “major art”!

 

As the concert progresses, we have the sensation of going back in time to listen Jane Birkin’s padded voice, which rocks the emblematic texts of the disappeared Pygmalion with a youthful sweetness, but we also aware with a smooth melancholy that the songs of the poet singer are now part of the musical heritage.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Blanc Icône Instagram
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Restez informés de nos spectacles,  tournées et promotions à venir!

SUIVEZ-NOUS!

JANE BIRKIN 

Birkin Gainsbourg, Le Symphonique

3 MARS 2020 / 20H00

SALLE WILFRID-PELLETIER - PDA

À partir de 55.00$

DESCRIPTION

À l’été 2016 naissait sous l’impulsion de l’OSM et des Francofolies de Montréal « Birkin Gainsbourg Le Symphonique ». Quatre ans plus tard et après avoir présenté le spectacle dans plus de vingt pays à travers le monde, Jane Birkin nous fait le plaisir de revenir chanter à Montréal, là où tout avait débuté!

 

Plus qu’aucune autre, Jane Birkin a su porter et personnaliser, avec grâce et charme, les textes brillants et torturés de Gainsbourg. Et la voici, plus de 25 ans après la disparition de l’artiste, qui nous subjugue une nouvelle fois en mettant en lumière une autre facette de quelques-uns des joyaux ciselés par celui-ci. De formation classique, Gainsbourg avait souvent emprunté au grand répertoire : Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Dvorak… marquent ainsi de leur sceau plusieurs de ses morceaux. Alors, nul doute qu’il aurait savouré ces subtils arrangements originaux et ces orchestrations qui voient la Grande musique s’emparer d’une vingtaine de ses titres, pour transformer ce qu’il appelait son « art mineur » en « art majeur » !

 

Au fil du concert on a la sensation de remonter le temps à l’écoute de la voix ouatée de Jane Birkin qui berce avec une douceur juvénile les textes emblématiques du pygmalion disparu, mais on prend aussi conscience avec une onctueuse mélancolie que les titres du poète chanteur font désormais définitivement partie du patrimoine musical.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Blanc Icône Instagram
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon